Deletes a file system, permanently severing access to its contents. Upon return, the file system no longer exists and you can't access any contents of the deleted file system.

You can't delete a file system that is in use. That is, if the file system

has any mount targets, you must first delete them. For more information, see DescribeMountTargets and DeleteMountTarget.

The DeleteFileSystem call returns while the file system state is still

deleting. You can check the file system deletion status by calling the DescribeFileSystems operation, which returns a list of file systems in your account. If you pass file system ID or creation token for the deleted file system, the DescribeFileSystems returns a 404 FileSystemNotFound error.

This operation requires permissions for the elasticfilesystem:DeleteFileSystem