Description

Deletes the specified EBS volume. The volume must be in the available state (not attached to an instance).

The volume may remain in the deleting state for several minutes.

For more information, see Deleting an Amazon EBS Volume (http://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/ebs-deleting-volume.html)

in the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud User Guide.